NEW YORK, NY
A user asked “Is Nutella halal?” This question was answered as “No, they are not halal”. However, this response from Nutella became the agenda in social media.
No, they are not halal.
— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 13, 2020
The company, which made a new statement upon the reactions, denied its first tweet.
The following statements were used in the statement made by the company:
All Nutella sold worldwide is suitable for Halal consumption. Over 90% of the industrial plants producing Nutella are already Halal certified by a third party and we are in the process of certifying the remaining plants. We apologize for the mistake made in our earlier tweet.
— Nutella (@NutellaUSA) September 14, 2020